Roscommon and Leitrim councillors paid over €1million in 2016 | About Leitrim

Roscommon and Leitrim councillors paid over €1million in 2016


New figures show that councillors in Roscommon and Leitrim were paid more than €1 million in salaries, allowances and expenses last year.

Councillors in Roscommon received €534,000 in 2016, while Leitrim’s got almost €488,000.


The average councillor in Roscommon last year received €26,700, while it was €25,700 in Leitrim.

In Roscommon, the current cathaoirleach, Independent Tony Ward, was the highest paid, receiving €41,300.

This included a representational payment of just over €17,143, an annual allowance of €4,600, a cathaoirleach allowance of €10,000 for holding the position for six months of last year and €3,000 for holding the same position in Athlone Municipal District.

The next highest paid was Fianna Fáil’s Paschal Fitzmaurice, receiving €39,000, while his party colleague Paddy Kilduff, cathaoirleach for half of last year, got nearly €38,400.

Another Fianna Fáil member, Ivan Connaughton, was the next top earner, with €36,200.

To see the full expenses you can click here 



In Leitrim, the best paid was Fine Gael’s John McCartin, with €41,500 – he was chairman of the council and the Ballinamore Municipal District for part of the year.

He was succeeded as cathaoirleach of the local authority by Fianna Fáil’s Mary Bohan, who was the second best earner, with €35,300.

Longford County Council says it hasn’t finalised its figures yet, but says they’ll be published on its website by March 1st.

To see the full expenses you can click here 



Share this:
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.
Skip to toolbar