Nineteen candidates in the race so far for 12 of the Leitrim council seats

At least 19 candidates will battle for 12 seats in two municipal districts in Leitrim in the local elections in May.

There are 11 declared candidates in Carrick-on-Shannon and eight in Ballinamore.

The boundary review team opted not to change the local electoral boundaries for Leitrim last year.


With a population of 32,044, there will continue to be 18 councillors in May, spread equally across Ballinamore, Carrick-on-Shannon and Manorhamilton municipal districts.

The 11 candidates confirmed for Carrick include three Fianna Fáil members, but sitting councillor Sinead Guckian isn’t one of them – she refused a nomination for the party.

Therefore, the party’s ticket comprises Carrick pharmacist Fintan Cox, Kiltoghert farmer Paddy Farrell and sitting councillor Sean McGowan, from Dromod.

Former councillor Thomas Mulligan, from Mohill, lost out in 2014, but he’s looking to make a return to the council with Fine Gael – he is joined on its two-person ticket by sitting councillor Finola Armstrong-McGuire, from Carrick.

The Green Party and Sinn Féin are each standing one candidate apiece – Carrick-based Leslie O’Hora and Mohill-based sitting councillor Seadhna Logan respectively.

Four independents are also in the field, with sitting councillors Dromod’s Des Guckian and Eslin’s Enda Stenson joined by newcomers Yvonne Hollidge, from Annaduff, and Seán Wynne, from Drumshanbo.

Unusually, Mr Wynne is also standing in the Ballinamore Muncipal District – he’s one of eight declared candidates in the field there.

So far, Fine Gael has chosen only one candidate – Gortletteragh’s Ita Reynolds-Flynn, a sister of Dáil candidate Gerry Reynolds – but at least another one is likely to be added.

High-profile councillor John McCartin, from Newtowngore, is bowing out, though.

Fianna Fáil councillors Caillain Ellis, from Ballinamore, and Paddy O’Rourke, from Carrigallen, will seek to retain their seats.

But Sinn Féin has chosen to stand three candidates – sitting councillors Drumshanbo’s Brendan Barry and Cloone’s Caroline Mulvey, along with former Leitrim IFA chairman Pat Gilhooley, from Aughnasheelin.

Drumshanbo farmer Gerry Dolan has been a councillor for 28 years and is seeking re-election – he’s one of just two Independents in the field, the other being Mr Wynne.

View the original article HERE


Webmaster & Admin for

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar